I have a CAD-related question for you:

I have a CAD-related question for you: I currently use Design Spark Mechanical (a crippled down version of SpaceClaim Engineer) for my modeling and, because of the limitations of the tool and it’s dead-end feeling I would like to switch to a better and closer-to-the-top-CADs out there option.

I have an account on OnShape but never got the grip on it + that I really don’t like the in-browser-only approach. Fusion360 as far as I know is free for students only.

I recently stumbled upon Creo Elements/Direct Modeling Express 6.0 (https://goo.gl/qBD28B), again a Direct Modeling software.

Do any of you have any insight about this piece of CAD software?

I recommend giving Onshape another try if you can. I’ve been using SolidWorks professionally for 12 years and currently I am making the switch to Onshape. Even with the minor hassle of the browser - internet requirement, there are so many things that Onshape does in faster or better ways that it’s worth it for me. The free version is only limited in privacy (you only get 10 private documents): it has all the modelling features of the paid versions.

(There are a few data management and collaboration features in the Professional version that you may not need).

So depending on your needs, it might be worth another look.

Fusion 360 is free for hobbyists and non commercial use or commercial use up to $100k yearly.

@Justin_Nesselrotte on their website sais “Fusion 360 free 3D CAD/CAM design software for students, educators, and academic institutions” … so I assumed only those are eligible by providing a proof or something of such an institution.

Nope. I’m not any of those things and I can use it for free.