How to improve the accuracy on step motors

Hi. I’m new to laser cutting. I purcheassed a K40 50W 40x40 cm.
My first test was cutting a 10x10mm square and it turns out as a 10.23 x 10.37 mm rectangle. Is there any solution to this? What should I investigate to solve this? I’ll be doing further tests with a bigger square, like 5 x 5 cm for better accuracy, but anyway, I would like to get the best accuracy also on these small dimensions.

Thanks

Welcome to the forum.

What software are you using to control your K40?

Hello. Thank you. I’m using CorelLaser

Using Corel means you have the Nano2/3 controller board. Pretty much everyone uses MeerK40t for software for that instead of Corel, but regardless what you need to do is the same for Corel or Meerk40t, which is to find the config file and change the value for “steps/MM”. You will want to do the math of figuring the percentage correction needed and applying that to the original value(likely to be around 157) in the config file. Then retest and tweak if needed. Hopefully someone will know the file name to look for but again…config should be it. I stopped using Corel the first few days and did not look back.

Yes I have the M3 Nano. I read that the Meerk40t supports up to M2 but not M3, that’s why I didn’t try with it.

I found a file in C:\Program Files (x86)\3WCAD\CorelLASER called EngraverSetting.ini with the following content:

[DeviceOptions]
LogicOrgX=187.013
LogicOrgY=161.039
EngraveToFile=0
Rotate=0
Mirror=0
Style=1
Grave=1
CuttingNearest=0
CuttingOrder=0
Speed=320
CutSpeed=10
OutLine=0
CuttingJoinGap=0
LocateFrame=1
LocateMode=0
HandLocate=1
CompilerMode=1
Steps=4
CuttingSteps=1
EngraveCount=1
LaserPower=75
OutBoundsLine=1
Increment=0
Unidirectional=0
SwapAxis=0
RotaryWork=0
PluginsSetting=11801105
[HardSetting]
MainboardRegcode=***********
MainboardModel=5
OrgPosition=0
VertLaserHead=0
CornerSpeedRatio=0
SystemDPI=1000
MaxWorkSpeed=500
PageOrginX=1
PageOrginY=1
PageSizeX=400
PageSizeY=400
TaskPriority=3