First print of calibration cube on an i3.

First print of calibration cube on an i3. Any tips on what is causing the lines and how to fix it?

Look at your slicer settings for travel distance in the XY direction. Looks like your nozzle is traveling outside the print but not far enough and it is drooling. Also over extrusion?

Thanks. I’m new to this and my friend’s printer gets great results (also cost $$$ more) so I’m a bit frustrated at not being able to replicate similar results. I’ll take a look at the travel distance and google for how to tighten the straps.

Actually, the square shape is relatively good. When I try a dodecahedron, it is a total mess:

The top of the dodecahedron is relatively OK. The bottom,which is the side with overhang is terrible.
missing/deleted image from Google+

Some serious part cooling is needed. Tighten your belts. If you got any of those belt tensioners, get rid of them. Print cooler will also help.

Light sand paper

05001438d3898d8d59e175709b2c84d7.gif

Are you using “retraction prime amount” and a random z seam? it looks like too much (btw. cura didn’t calculate this by the time or at least travel distance - it is a fixed value)

@Ulrich_Baer I will check that setting. I think @Panayiotis_Savva is right with the part cooling. When I examine the dodec print, the worst part is all on one side and mostly on the underside. I will install a part cooling fan and see how that improves and then look to see if the belt tension can be optimised.

@Philip_Money_Mongoos I would assume that there are two issues. on the dodecahedron cooling is one … on the cube this partly overextrusion (probably where he start a layer) doesn’t seem to be cooling related

@Ulrich_Baer Yes, I agree, it is probably multiple issues and will need to go through one by one.

my best guess is over extrusion starting a new layer, temperature of hotend a little high, and part cooling being needed.