Transporting a large laser engraver

I am a teacher and have been offered a large Omtech 2440 laser that has been unboxed and barely used, but I have to coordinate moving it. In order to fit it through the doorway, I will need to tip it on its front or back. Then it needs to go into a moving truck for a few miles. I am concerned about the moving parts and the laser tube. Here are a few questions:

1. Should I remove the tube before tipping and moving the enclosure? I do not look forward to all the work this could entail if it is not needed.
  2. How sensitive are the other moving parts to a move like this? How can I secure them?
  3. Is it going to be better to flip it on its front to get through the door, but then put it back down for the rest of the move?
    Any suggestions are appreciated!
    Omtech 2440 laser
    Thanks all!
    Betsy

Wow, nice! Does the offer include a water chiller? (If not, consider that part of the cost of ownership!)

Wait for others with more expertise, but I’ll start by sharing my less-informed thoughts…

I would not remove the tube. I would tip the unit onto its back not its front. You typically want the heavy side down. You’ll want to cap and/or drain the tube. If you drain it, make sure that it’s full of water not bubbles before firing it after the move. :smiling_face:

I would tie the mirror head into one back corner so it doesn’t rattle around. Tie it gently so it doesn’t twist anything.

You may have to remove loose parts from the cutting area. For example, I don’t know whether the bed is fixed or rests free on lift components. I would remove all loose components before moving, after taking lots of pictures to make sure you know where everything goes when you arrive.

After a move, it’s not crazy that you’ll need to check mirror alignment. We have two guides in the FAQ for mirror alignment. Mirrors getting slightly misaligned will result in poor cutting power, typically inconsistently poor across the cutting surface.