Total Novice wanting to make a start

Hi Folks…
I feel I need to apologies in advance for firstly my total inexperience and second not knowing the correct terms to use… but trusting that at some stage we were all novices (so be gentle) but here goes…

My goal…
I want to move a camera along a C Channel section …approx. 1500mm long. I have the carriage built and have the stepper motor, and a MKS DLC V2.0 (I also have MKS SGEN_L V1.0 and a few Raspberry Pi’s which I am sure are an overkill for a simple x axis single movement operation I am looking for)
I don’t know if it is relevant but I work on Mac. not PC
I would like someone to point me in a direction to find some tutorials for absolute beginners. I don’t even know what program (I think it would be a GBRL) to download and even plug in the board. I need to have the camera slide along the channel, hit a limit switch and either return until it meets the other limit switch…It is critical to me that I am able to control the speed with precision.
If you have got this far reading and not fallen off your chair laughing I thank you…
Any Ideas?
Regards
John Marc

1 Like

A few questions to get started… This will help understand whether you are really asking what is the easiest way to connect this to a computer and pretend you have a weird one-dimensional 3d printer that doesn’t print, or want to learn how to program something more specific to your purpose.

Is it critical that it be controlled by two limit switches, or is one limit switch at the starting position and run a known length sufficient? Do you want to move the limit switches to set different limits without making any other change?

Do you have programming skills?

Is this just a task you want to complete, or is this an excuse to learn more? :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like