Strange line-behavior with creality k1 and eSun PETG filament

Hey guys,

I’m new to 3D printing and learned a lot from forums, articles and youtube videos. My printer is a creality K1 (new revision) and I tried to print one of my own models (an easy one, just a cap for the mount of my ikea curtain).

With PLA it was all fine an perfect, but with eSun PETG I ended in some trouble. I tested some calibration and figured out the correct parameters (245°, 115% flow ratio, 75° build plate, reduced cooling ~50%, 3mm retraction distance, 40mm/s retraction speed).

But the first diagonal lines from my top layer always looks “unclosed”. I dont know why. So I put the same model 3times on the plate and just the one in the middle has these strange “unclosed” lines (please take a look on my pictures, I marked what I mean).

First I thought it’s some sort of underextruded, but the other ones doesn’t have this problem.

I’m happy for every advise. :frowning:

Thank you!

Welcome both to the hobby and Maker Forums! :slightly_smiling_face:

This happening only for some areas is a common symptom of the bed not being perfectly flat, when bed mesh compensation is insufficiently accurate.

Does the K1 let you choose a finer mesh for bed mesh probing?

Hi Michael, thank you for welcoming me and your answer!
This is a great hint! I googled a little bit around and found some youtube videos about “fixed k1 bed” :smiley:

Unfortunately the K1 software is a little bit crippled, I’m working on it to get access to all features of the base klipper system.

I will answer until I tested some things in this direction - thank you so much!

Does it give you access to edit the Klipper config? If so, in the [bed_mesh] section you should see probe_count: with two numbers; those are the X and Y axis number of points to probe.

Here are the associated Klipper docs: Bed Mesh - Klipper documentation

Hi again Michal,

sorry was busy with work.