Need to measure Laser

Hi again,

I have replaced the tube on my K40 after an unforunate freezing mishap but thiink the new one from Cloudray may be faulty. I have spoken to someone at Cloudray and sent them a video of the tube working which shows it never gets above 4-6 mA at 99.9% on the digital readout. I have switched back to the M2Nano board from a Monport board as this was suffering the same issue so i thought this a valid experiment.

Cloudray have asked the Following

“What is the voltage of the laser power signal measured on the laser power supply? When using 99.8% power, the measured voltage should be around 4.8V. If the voltage is abnormal, unplug the laser signal plug on the laser power supply, press the LASER button on the laser power supply, and capture the discharge status and current size of the laser tube.”

As i am fairly new to all this, can someone explain where i should be taking these measurements from on the LPS please? I am using this model LPS

Happy to provide any further information required.

thanks

I think they are asking you to measure the IN pin as this controls the power from the panel. Depending on what kind of control panel you have, measure this to the ground when the pot is at max or the digital display is set to 100%.

I think laser signal refers to the L or IN pins. If it’s IN, why are they calling it Laser Signal?? I am guessing they want to measure the laser power without any external control.
The IN is on the second [3-pin] connector from the right.
The L is on the larger 1st connector on the right.

The discharge current is read on your milli-ammeter. I am assuming your machine has a mili-amp meter since you reported the current to them.

This is what they are trying to test.

The IN pin controls power at the machine. It should be near 5V to get full power from the tube.
With the IN pin at 5V pushing the TEST button on the LPS should result in the tube lasing at its max current.