Need machining help (lathe) with experiment I plan to build

I am looking for someone that can do some free (i.e. no charge) machining on a lathe for an experiment that I plan to set up. I have 3" diameter stainless steel tubes (thin wall) less than 1 foot long and also 1/4" tubing and vacuum flange fittings from Swagelok that need machining and eventually welding (I also need to find people who can weld these together). I’m guessing the machining will be around 15 hours of work. I am setting up an interesting experiment and my hope is to build the core part of the experiment and use that to find investors. I have 30 years experience as a mechanical engineer and a good amount of experience designing things with tubing and fittings that require welding. I can pay for the materials. The timeframe is to do this about 4 months (or later) from now. If I can find 2 or 3 machinists that are interested then that will cover the situation where some of them are too busy at that time.
thank you

Any sort of compensation offered? I doubt you’ll find anyone bored enough to donate 15+ hours of machine shop time to a total internet stranger, but what do I know.

2 Likes

“I’d like people to sign up to do skilled work for me for free without telling them what it’s even about” is a pretty weird flex, and pushes some boundaries.

3 Likes

I agree, I should have described my experiment so that it makes more sense.

There are multiple groups that see small amounts of transmutation in metals from electric discharges. My plan is to reproduce some of these experiments. For example, in the Safire Project, they use high voltages at medium/low current and found new elements (namely calcium, barium and titanium) on their iron, nickel and tungsten anode after the electrical discharges. Those elements did not previously exist anywhere in their experimental set up and the presumption is that the calcium, barium and titanium were produced by transmutation from other metals inside the experiment: