K40 slowly losing power/strength over 1-hour time

WHAT I AM TRYING TO ACCOMPLISH

I am a fine artist and just started using the Omtech/K40 Whisperer to cut 10 mil polyester paper. The designs are extremely small, intricate and precise which forces me to use a very slow speed and power combo to maintain the delicate nature of the art without melting it away. It has to be just enough to cut through but not so much that it begins to melt and curl the paper in tight areas. I have had some success in the past but it has been hit and miss for the most part. As my designs become more complex and larger, the time required to cut a single piece has increased and thus my issue seems to be getting worse.

THE ISSUE

After testing a small section of my design on scraps and dialing in the speed/strength, I begin the cut. After a period of time, the laser begins to lose strength/power, finally resulting in merely marking the paper instead of cutting through. I therefore have to “babysit” the cut and when I notice it losing strength, I bump the power up by .1% (4.2 > 4.3). Typically, a single design can take anywhere from 1 – 1.5 hours and I begin to notice a slow drop off around 10 mins into the cut.

MY SPECS

Omtech 40 watt laser
Digital meter (not amp meter)
Custom air blower (No air assist needed… there’s almost no smoke produced)
Custom cooling with 5-gallon bucket/distilled water and aquarium pump
Stock mirrors and lenses (cleaned thoroughly)
No water temp gauge (but the water is in the 50’s… cold in New England)
Cut Speed: 1mms
Cut Strength on Digital Meter: 4.2
K40 Whisperer

MY GOAL