K40 alignment. First time. Thank you in advance

I’ve been diligently researching and watching countless videos on the topic of CO2 laser K40 mirror alignment, but alas, I find myself still wrestling with some alignment issues. So, I’m turning to this forum once again, hoping that the collective wisdom here can shed some light on my situation.

Here’s the rundown:

1. Machine Details: I’m dealing with a K40 laser, and I’m well aware that there are numerous variables at play.
  2. First Mirror Adjustment: When I push the gantry all the way toward the bulb, it seems I have to adjust the first mirror quite a bit just to get the laser beam to land on the second mirror. So far, so good.
  3. Gantry Movement: However, when I move the gantry all the way away from the laser tube (facing the machine), the laser beam veers off to the right—way off the mirror altogether. It’s as if the laser isn’t parallel to the gantry and is taking a sharp angle to the right…

Now, I’m no seasoned pro (yet!), but I firmly believe that we all start somewhere. :blush: So, I’m reaching out for any insights, tips, or potential pitfalls that might be lurking in the shadows. If you’ve encountered similar challenges or have a knack for unraveling laser mysteries, your help would be greatly appreciated!

And yes, I’ve noticed that most videos out there cover the basics but often skip over the nitty-gritty details. None that I have encountered have shared any of the potential pitfalls. :hammer_and_wrench:

Thank you in advance for your expertise and patience.

Have you seen this tool? (Can’t remember who I’ve mentioned it to…) It shines backwards from the nozzle with a visible red dot.

I did run into this product while searching the forum for a fix for my problem. Has anyone here used this thing. I would buy it if it worked and save me the frustration I am experiencing. :slight_smile: Anyone have a review for this item. Thank you for showing me this item.