How can I get a better idea of how much it will cost to actually manufacture my device?

Hi, I’ve got a device that I want to try and sell. My proof of concept consists of:

$5 - Raspberry Pi Zero
$5 - Micro SD Card
$3 - USB cable to power the pi
$2 - 2 amp power supply to power the pi
$3 - Electronic Relay
$5 - power cable and strain relief (haven’t actually found exactly what I need for this but I’m guessing. A lamp cord from Home Depot is about how it should be)
$5 - power receptacle
$10 - nuts, bolts, glue, rubber feet, stickers, wires, solder, led, slide switch
$10 - 3d printed case

which puts the device at $50 if I use off the shelf components and assemble it myself and give it away for free. I’m not a hardware expert but I imagine some of those components could be integrated. I don’t need a whole Raspberry pi. Any device that can run linux, has wifi and ethernet, and can control a relay will do. Also, there are obviously additional costs that aren’t related to manufacturing but I’m not considering those in this question.

How does one go about finding a manufacturer and getting a better estimate of how much it will actually cost to manufacture the device at scale? Let’s say I want to manufacture either 1,000 or 10,000 of the devices.

Right now I’m painting with very broad strokes so feel free to do the same. Thanks!

The case for the prototype:

The guts of the prototype:

1 Like

First thing you need to do is to make a schematic and board file of an all in one device. Then you can approach board manufacturers for quotes. @pauldg123 has been through the process a couple of times. He might have some good tips for you.

2 Likes

Once you have a board and BOM, you can use circuithub to get an instant quote. I have not used them, but have heard enthusiastic responses from some who have.

https://circuithub.com/

3 Likes

That sounds much like a remote power switch like a <$10 sonoff:

1 Like