Help diagnose a riding mower that won't start

Hi folks,

Hoping I can get some help with lawn equipment and small engine debugging here. Given the wide range of interests we have I expect someone might have experience with these things.

I’ve recently acquired some riding mowers, and this red one was working when I bought it (seller demonstrated it running) but it now won’t start when I brought it home.

Let me also say that I am handy and I have done some work on cars before, but I am pretty new to debugging an engine itself. I have been reading and watching a lot of YouTube, and I have a decent understanding of how things work now, but I might also be overlooking something dead simple, so please leave no stone unturned.

Specs:

Troy Bilt 13AX60TG766 Riding Mower, 2006 era. Engine inside is a Kohler Courage 19.

Symptoms:

• Battery is dead so I have the machine hooked up to a jump starter or jumped from my truck.
  • Engine will crank but will not start. While cranking I hear a squeal/ whine from the rear of the unit where the battery is or would be located. And after a few seconds of cranking there is a buzzing sound coming from the engine.

I believe I am starting the unit correctly - the PTO is disengaged, the parking brake is on, the choke is on, the unit is in neutral.

Steps taken so far:

• Opened up air filter cover, removed air filter, can see carb butterfly. Confirmed that it is closed with the choke engaged. This rules out a loose linkage.
  • Disconnected fuel line, yes we have gas going through the inline filter.
  • I removed the fuel solenoid and verified that gas is leaking out of the carb bowl, and that the fuel solenoid actuates smoothly. I hear the click of the fuel solenoid when I turn the key on. This confirms that the fuel solenoid is operating properly.