Create DEPTH MAPS from AI images for 3D LASER ENGRAVING with one click!

6 Likes

I’ve been following this technology application for a while. It is super cool but still pretty nascent. The input image really has to be super clean to get decent results.

You can do these locally on your computer by installing SDXL along with the huggyface depth map controlnet. Unfortunately you need a relatively strong NVidia GPU to get it to work.

I am still learning all the jargon that is in use with AI image generation. The image data bases, filters, detailers all have their own jargon names: control nets, loras, diffusers, …etc.

I am amazed by the speed of this development. Its feels like it is improving at light speed.

2 Likes

For anyone curious, this is the level of detail you are getting out of the box. There are filters you can use with the AI software to slightly improve it as well as cleaning up the image with a 2d graphics software (removing background and other processes). You can also always clean up the 3d geometry with 3d modeling software. It can give you a really good starting point for a pattern.

I am still amazed you can get anything from a single 2d image to create a 3d bas relief.

Image created in stable diffusion XL 1.0. Text prompt: cat in a coffee shop wearing a smoking jacket.

1 Like

DAANNGG

This works so good!! I’ve been looking for a way to do this for ages. Thank you for sharing!!

Here are my first results:

The midjourney prompt was

alabaster bas relief wall Frieze medallion of a deer fawn sitting in flowers cottagecore

I got the height map as described in the video.

Turned it into an STL using: Create a 3D Heightmap - ImageToStl

And took the screenshot in: SculptGL - A WebGL sculpting app

5 Likes