Can't get them motors to work

Hi there,

Be gentle with me I’m new to all this…Complete Newbee…

I’m building a worktop mounted linear rail CNC this wood router. I bought some stepper on line Nema 23 motors X4 for X,YY and Z Axis. I planned to run them off a Makerbase 32bit DLC32 with a small screen and 4 DM556 drivers. So far so good, I hope.
Unfortunately I have met a few problems.
I have connected the drivers form the pins behind where the plug-in drivers would go, these are marked E,S,D,G. and have connected them to E=ENA+, S=Pul+, D=Dir+ and G=ENA-, S-, and PUL- linked together. Hope that makes sense.
The power side of the driver has a 36V power supply and the motors are connected (I have checked the motor winding continuity with a Multi Meter)A+to A- etc.
The DLC32 board has a 12v Power supply.
Trouble is when I ask the touch screen to move a motor I can hear the driver doing something but the motor sits there completely disinterested.
I do however, get a constant red LED on the driver but when I ask the Y axis to move (via small screen) the red light goes off and the driver makes a quiet noise like it was trying to do something. But still no movement on the motor. I checked for voltage on the motor winding during this process, I was reading a small voltage(2.4v) on coil A but nothing on coil B, presuming it was ‘A windings turn’ ??.
I have swapped motors and drivers. Have I got the DLC32 connected incorrectly ?
Any info or ideas would be great, as I said at the start, CNC Newbee…Many thanks in advance.

Using the external connectors?

The G is for ground, not ENA-. Notice the driver manual state it’s usually unconnected.

I suggest you use the the ground pin on the other connector.

Make sense?

What is linked together?

:smile_cat:

Check the voltage on those pins; the DLC32 I think is 3.3V not 5V, and it looks like your drivers might want at least 4V.