AXYZ Millenium CNC

Please excuse my general ignorance here. I’m about to purchase the above and before I part with my coin I thought I’d ask a community of CNC people what they would do. Here is my dilemma, I understand CNC having worked for comptervision for years but I’m new to making myself if that makes sense. My budget is limited so I should be looking at something around £2K but the above is currently sitting in a local workshop and I can buy it for similar money and its much bigger than the other machines I’m talking about. I have spoken to AXYZ corp who made it an its not supported anymore and parts are limited.

Here is my question. given the potential upside to having a mid level CNC machine and the capabilities this would give me not least of which is size. would you buy it. I is working, is in use right now. Has all the manuals.

Basically, Despite the fact that AXYZ are telling me the the controller is an old controller and is not supported, I’m pretty sure I could (admittedly wth some work and coin) replace the controller and anything else. At the end of the day its just hardware and software and motors gears, switches etc.

I guess I’m just looking for someone who knows what they are talking about to tell me I’m right and I should buy this thing rather then play safe with a smaller cheaper cnc.

Thanks in advance
Martyn

I would say the answer is “it depends” on:
What you want to do with it?
What space you have?
What skills you have access to.

In general I would get the biggest machine I could afford for avail space.

Keep in mind an older machine may:
Take time to research and learn to run

Controller may need replacement to make it compatible with avail software.

If it breaks I you may have to replace systems vs repair the current ones.

I would start by understanding what software it uses and what state of operational readiness it is in.