Arduino Nano Optical Endstop

Hello all,

I’m looking to build a sensor for my 3D printer to check the filament is moving.

I’ve bought some optical end stops, and printed an encoder wheel and housing.

I’ve wired the endstop signal to D3 of a NANO, but my code constantly reports the digitalRead == LOW. The red light of the endstop is behaving correctly.

Pin 3 is set to input on the code - and my job is a programmer - so my code is reliable.

I’m wondering if I need a resistor in the circuit ? I’m no particularly proficient with circuit design.

I have tried to use the internal pull ups but no joy.

Anyone have any advice please?

These are my endstops

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07YDGXKNT?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

It looks like it has a resistor and an indicator LED on it. Start simple: does the indicator LED turn on when you interrupt the path?

make sure you are powering it from the same 5V and GND of the Arduino Nano or at the very least you have to have the ground from the power supply and the ground of the Nano connected.

I would have done the same as you, ie set the digital pin as input, set the internal resistor as pull-up and give it a try. The next thing I would do, if you don’t have a volt meter, is to disable the pull-up and look for a low.

A volt meter measuring from gnd to sig with nothing blocking the optical path and then a reading with something blocking the path should tell you what signals to look for on the Arduino input pin.

Hi Michael,

Yes it does. All behaves as expected on the board.

Hey Dougl,

It’s all powered via the nano, so ground is common.

I’ll try the test meter tomorrow and update.

Thanks both

1 Like

something we all have to keep an eye on with the controllers and add-on components is their voltage rating. years ago it was all TTL level so 0-5V but over the years lower voltages started being used so using a 5V sensor with a 3.3V Arduino would sometimes burn out the Arduino/rPi input pin.