3018 Pro headache

Hello. This is my forst post, so forgive me if it’s in the wrong place.

I bought a 3018 Pro several years ago, and assembly went fine, but I could never establish a connection. Being an engineer, I managed to find the USB/RS232 driver chip had a floating output pin, so I replaced the chip on the board and it “sort of” worked, in I could move the spindle around a little, but it seemed to drop steps and continued to be unusable. So I bought a “compatible” card on Amazon, and it didn’t support spindle control, so I just put the whole project aside.

My wife griped that she’d like some two-layer acrylic tags for her garden, so I dusted off the 3018, ordered yet another control board from Amazon, installed it, and although it works much better, it processes 10 to 137 (record so far) gcode lines before I get a “serial device not working” in Candle. Momentarily disconnecting the USB cable is the only way I’ve discovered to reset whatever action it’s stuck doing. My files are Easel generated gcode with the appropriate machine choice.

I’ve tried all five USB ports on my laptop and two different cables. My laptop is older, but it runs all the manual motion I care to make.
I’ve tried disconnecting the spindle in case it’s noise or power issues. I’m about ready to put it back in the back of the cabinet and celebrate only blowing a few hundred bucks.

Any debugging suggestions? I’ll try the “test” file that came with the GRBL program that was included with the original shipment next time I’m out in the garage.

A secondary problem is if the crash happens during a Y-axis move, the tray moves beyond it’s range and the bearing pushes out of the plastic doodad, and the T-bearing springs out the other side. Should the pressed-in bearing in the vertical mechanism move around so easily?

You might see whether the serial connection problems persist with Universal Gcode Sender?

And have you tried running it with the laptop running on batteries?