Why am I getting rogue extra lines converting SVG to laser "cut" (for engraving)

LaserWeb information

On the About page, I see that I have:

• Frontend version: 4.0.996
  • Backend version: 4.0.127

My settings are:

(not relevant I think; can repro the problem at LaserWeb)

Problem description

When I generate from an SVG, I expect the laser paths to just etch paths which are in the SVG, but instead I get a whole bunch of extra lines.

Background: I have a 500 mW laser (on Creality Ender 5) and I’m just trying to etch some stuff into wood, not actually cut. but “laser cut” seems like the closest option in generation mode. I don’t know if this is the source of the problem?

This problem has always happened (but I’m new to laserweb and laser etching in general).

Steps to reproduce

• upload this input SVG
  • Add document to generation pane
  • simulate gcode/laser.

Notice how there are a bunch of straight join lines with laser on which don’t correspond to paths in the original SVG. Are these supposed to be there? Is this a bug or some misunderstanding on my part about what LaserWeb is supposed to do in this situation?

1 Like

I notice those straight lines you’re talking about are a different color… is there a setting to show/not-show the “moves” of the laser head. ie these might just be the movement to reposition the laser head for the next section.

1 Like

Ah! it’s already in that mode I think. The red lines are definitely “laser on” (I have also verified by printing). greens are laser off, just showing the gcode movements. I’d expect the straight red lines to also be green (ie Laserweb should be saying "OK I’ve finished this path and need to move to somewhere else – I’m gonna turn the laser off for that bit – as it does for the green cases)

1 Like

Looks like bug.

Workaround:

Open the file in Inkscape, select all (Ctrl + A), Path → Break Apart (Ctrl + Shift + K), and save.

This will increase the file size quite a bit, but it will work.

3 Likes