What do you guys do your modeling in?

What do you guys do your modeling in? I just wasted an entire day trying to model some things in FreeCAD I could have knocked out in about an hour and had printed by now in Creo.

I’d rather not use OpenSCAD because Im just not a programmer but have about 10 years of various cad systems for my background. Systems that are free and cross platform are a plus.

Edu license for AutoCad?

No educational licenses. I have access to all those because I am an adjunct prof at a community college. But I would like to be able to release the drawings I’m working on without the risk of someone coming back on me. I know it sounds crazy but with my job the risk is there.

Ahh, that’s why I asked. Totally understand. Have you tried Alibre?

I use MoI 3d. Simple, direct solid modeling.

Both of those are possibilities. How are assemblies in MoI?

A friend sent me an article about Alibre. Apprarently its changed hands in the last year and now is called Cubify and has some incorporation of MoI in it.

Ahh, I haven’t looked at it in years. I’m still trying to find a decent option between openscad and autocad. :-/

http://www.cheetah3d.com/

Is sketchup an option?

Autodesk Fusion 360 is perfect for my needs and has excellent export-to-STL. And works on a Mac. I highly recommend it.

And it is free for personal use or not-for-profit use and for students/educators.

What problems did you have with @FreeCAD ?