So noob here, I have a Kehui KH-3020 K40 machine.

So noob here, I have a Kehui KH-3020 K40 machine. It came with the Nano controller board and I’ve found it seems to cut correctly with Corel setup for HP/GL2 data vs WMF, the suggested settings(found on here) which does not cut correctly. So that makes me wonder if it doesnt support other software or could at least if we had drivers. Reading about the Smoothie boards I see where they have advantages but still seems the software situation is just trading one partial solution for another. Having to use 2-4 programs to get results seems a more of a cludge than the maching is :D. Educate me please

It’s a no brainer to me to use Smoothie and LaswerWeb, best workflow and active team improving it all the time. YMMV.

The key difference that got me here was the challenges associated with the closed nature of the stock K40’s software/hardware tool path. With the stock controller you are locked to a proprietary controller and Corel. Try and get support or improvements for either … :frowning:

As long as you stay with the stock K40 software you can do SOME stuff ok. For example if all you are going to do is engrave dithered images that setup may work fine.

Corel is not a CAD tool and I found myself constantly tweaking the design or playing with formats to make it cut dimension-ally correct.

As soon as you try and do things that come from other software’s it gets even more clumsy, difficult or impossible. By other software’s I mean CAD/CAM packages that offer much better design and fabrication interfaces.

To make matters worse you have no way of knowing what is not working, the original design, the design software or the machines controller because Corel communicates with the controller via proprietary means and you cannot see what the controller is seeing.