Omtech K40+ Cannot Cut Thru Material

I’ve got a new Omtech k40+ with Lightburn. I’m a Lightburn newbie but I managed to get it set up correctly…at least I think. I did a ramp test to find where my focal length should be and I think I have that set correctly. I’m trying to cut 3mm/.118" thick acrylic with 1 pass and I’m unable to do it even at 100% power/19mA at 7mm/sec. I’m not sure what’s going on. On my other k40, using k40 whisperer, I can cut 3mm acrylic at 9mA with 1 pass all day long. Could it be that I have something misconfigured in Lightburn? I don’t understand what is happening.

My mirrors are aligned. I double checked those again. My mirrors and lens are clean. Air assist is working. When trying to cut at 100% power, I do see the meter read 19mA. Everything appears to be working. It’s just not cutting. It’s likely something obvious but I’m not seeing it.

The odd thing is when trying to cut acrylic, it’s only penetrating about a 1/4 of the way through. It’s like I’m starved for power. Any thoughts?

1. properly working tube
  2. clean and aligned optics
  3. proper focus

If you have these three, they work.

If you’re sure about the focus, that only leaves two…

When you did the alignment check, did you look at the TEM mode of the tube?

Suggest you don’t run 100% power, especially when you have a technical issue… 19mA could be a bit hot for these…

Good luck

:smile_cat:

1. properly working tube
    Before I turned on the laser, I followed an instruction booklet that wanted me to disconnect the red wire from the tube and the black/blue wire from the tube and connect that up to a large resistor. Then it wanted me to press the test fire button and read the milliamp meter on the unit. It appeared ok but I didn’t really understand what I was suppose to see if it was bad. So…I wired it back up like the instructions told me and away I went.

2. clean and aligned optics