Noob here and playing with the cylon demo in the FastLED library.

Noob here and playing with the cylon demo in the FastLED library. I’m trying to add a variable that lets me set a particular color rather than going through the rainbow (trying to make something for Mardi Gras with just Purple, Green, and Gold).
Calling the function “colorstreak” it looked like this with the idea that I could set a Hex color in the variable “streakcolorfor” my purple green and gold:
void colorstreak( byte streakcolor) {
for (int i = 0; i < NUM_LEDS; i++) {
leds[i] = streakcolor;
FastLED.show();
fadeall();
delay(10);
}
for (int i = (NUM_LEDS) - 1; i >= 0; i–) {
leds[i] = streakcolor;
FastLED.show();
fadeall();
delay(10);
}
but this doesn’t work. I’ve tried byte, int, uint8_t, uint16_t and they all end up with weird colors. If I don’t try to define the function with a variable and just put the code in the main loop with my colors(for example purple 0x8010ff) then it shows up fine.

I also tried with RGB values broken up (with both byte, and int)
void colorstreak( byte red, bye green, byte blue) {
leds[i] = red, green, blue;
FastLED.show();
fadeall();
delay(10);
}
and I would still get funky colors. Again losing the function and just defining the pixels with RGB 128,16,255 in the main loop worked fine.

I’m sure it’s something as simple as using the proper variable type, but I’ve been at it for a while and getting frustrated. Thanks in advance for any help.

Do you want it to have the same effect as the cylon example? Also, I am not really sure what streakcolor is. “leds[i] = streakcolor;” It does not look like a color is being selected.

Yeah–same thing as cylon but be able to assign a color variable. “streakcolor” is just the name of that variable I’m trying assign, so I can put in the main loop:
streakcolor(0x8010ff);
streakcolor(0x2cb004);
streakcolor(0xff4a00);