Making a small mold for an experiment.  Planning on using expanded foam construction for

Making a small mold for an experiment. Planning on using expanded foam construction for a new project (will make a formal project announcement shortly). Picked up Fusion 360 as my main CAD tool for this project.

Awesome! Are you going to use expanding foam? Let’s agree on the foam to use… We should invite any takers to join us in the mold making part of the effort.

Yeah, I have no ideas what exact foam to use. Seems some research is in order. Anyone have experience with this?

We can make public some of the geometries being worked on.

Gonna make a trip to the local composites and plastics shop in town to see what they have for expanding foams. I read online that a wax type mold release is commonly used for expanding foam.

Use carnauba wax with PVA over top. You can get PVA from http://fibreglast.com

I’m still learning how to use Fusion 360. This is my first attempt at sharing a model so others can help experiment with mold making. I took this model and scaled it up to fit my build plate. Check out and download the mold model here: http://a360.co/1NOqYpS

Cool, loading the model know on my phone :wink:

I have pva :wink:

I wonder how ninjaflex works as a mold release-- when printing dual material prints, it’s hard to get PLA to stick to it

Foam-it 10 slow is pretty good stuff with wax coated silicon

“Slow” 7 minute pot life, 6x volume expansion, fast version is a couple minutes, other densities available. Think line is made by smooth-on. This an airfoil of some sort?

Your probably best off printing the positive if your desired part, sanding and possibly chemically smoothing it (if not an sla print) and masking a silicon mold from it to them cast the part. More steps but mold can pump out at least 30 parts instead of?

@Brook_Drumm Thats an interesting thought…