Looking for Prusa help or a forum with Prusa expertise

First post here… Hello!

I recently purchased two used Prusa i3’s a MK2 and an MK2 upgraded to MK2.5S

The upgraded one does not work and I’m looking for a forum where I can get info on how to fix it. I’m new to 3D printing but I’m an engineer so pretty good at fixing things.

I posted on the Prusa forum, but have had no response.

I was given a Prusa i3 MK2 upgraded to MK3.5 last summer and went through it and I too had calibration failures when the censor was not getting to the spots on the bed. There was an offset somewhere, sorry it’s been months and I only did it once. The machine is now at a local Middle School so not readily handy for me to look at to jog my memory.

My mk3.5 had the MMU1 on it so I could not upgrade the firmware so even that is going to be different. But I’m pretty sure there is something in one of the calibration options which got the PINDA aligned enough for auto calibration to work.

Doug,

Much appreciated, every little piece of troubleshooting information helps.

For anyone following along…

One thing I want to know is does the first point in the XYZ calibration occur at the front left target or a fair bit 1.5cm to the left of the target?

I know that the standard Z bed leveling(before each print) starts at the front left and ends at the back right. I don’t remember what happened when doing the main calibration which includes moving the motors to the top just before they hit the stops at the top.

I do believe they all had to be really close to the circle targets on the base plate.

I think your right and that is probably the problem, but I can’t be sure. When I figure it out I will update this thread.

Thanks

1 Like

Finally made some progress…