K40 Not cutting 3mm MDF

Hi All,
Although I am not a newbie in that I do 3D printing and CNC machining and laser etching using a 3018 , I decided to concentrate on laser and in particular cutting and so researched heavily the K40 laser. I bought a used machine because I knew I might need to change everything (apart from the box and tub) and indeed the one I bought seemed to work fine cutting through 2.5mm birch ply as an initial test but I wanted to do all the changes and setting up before starting properly and I only got the air assist in last week. I now find that I cannot cut through 3mm MDF and when I checked the internet, I came across your site where you have dealt with this issue numerous times. Although I can confirm the changes and setting up, I have done, I think I have covered everything you have recommended in the past. In trying to determine my problem, I found the site most useful I have come across for the newbie with a K40, so I wanted to reassure you that I think I have tried everything you have suggested in the past. This morning I think I may have found the problem in that I think there are some fibres in the lasing neck end of the tube. I cannot work out how this debris has got in as I was so careful in setting up the cooling system. Anyway, I hope you can see this in the pic. If you agree that I do need to clean this out, it does seem to be stuck at the lasing end of the tube so and I cannot remove by tilting the machine so it is unlikely I can remove it without flushing it out in some way. Do you think I might I be able to reverse flush it in situ using water from the tap which I could at least connect to the outlet hose? Would I need to limit the tap pressure? or do you think I will need to remove the tube which I would prefer not to do? If you think I should remove the tube, do you have a process for this? Going forward can you recommend an inline filter ensuring that debris does not get into the tube again presumably at the inlet end.