I'm new to FastLED and I love the limitless possibilities, however,

I’m new to FastLED and I love the limitless possibilities, however, I’m wondering if there is a better resource to learn the depths of the library than simple youtube videos that don’t really go that in depth into the library. I’m also stuck with the FastLED documentation page because I often find that there is’nt enough explanation with some of the functions and i end up just getting lost and confused. I’m trying to create a 3D icosahedron infinity mirror (same shape as the D20 dice) and I’ve written some very simple animations but i cant seem to progress further from here without copy and pasting some one else’s code. I want to be able to better understand the library so I can write many animations that gradually change from one to the next. I also want to add sound reactivity and maybe a ps4 controller. My main inspiration comes from the Deeplight created by Neil Merchant which I’m sure most of y’all have heard of. If you want any more information on what I’m trying to create, I’ve written an in depth project outline that details most of my goals for the project and I’m happy to share it and collaborate with anyone willing to help!

Where are you with the physical build of this thing ? How many LEDS per edges ??

@JP_Roy I haven’t started on the construction yet. I’m working with some friends to figure out the geometry of the solid as well as the optimal path to wire up each led strip. I was thinking about 20 leds pet edge

@Will_Norton So with 30 edges that is 600 LEDS… You should seriously consider parallel output with the OCTOWS2811 that piggyback on the Teensy.

Another option is the ESP32 that is reported to also support parallel output, even up to 16 but I have never worked with it myself. Note that it also has wireless control capability built-in !!