I'm completely new to diy cnc.

I’m completely new to diy cnc. I’m looking for an excellent resource on a step by step, how to build your own CNC machine. Has anyone followed a guide like this or authored one? If so please share it.

Thanks!

Openbuilds.com

Do you want a toy you can learn with and if it crashes fixing will be inexpensive, or, are you after some more serious hardware?

Initially I want something inexpensive to learn with and potentially produce low quantity so cost would be a factor, but then I want to build something that I can reliable mass produce. (cost pending) I really cant spend 10k on this, What initially peaked my interested was the 5 axis CNC kickstarter project, but at 5k thats still to expensive for my pocket book. I’m a DIYer I think I can make it MUCH cheaper than 5k Ideally in the 500$ range would be sufficient. I figure the most expensive part would be the actual drilling tool. (if thats the right name for it)

Very inexpensive build http://m.instructables.com/id/Easy-to-Build-Desk-Top-3-Axis-CNC-Milling-Machine/ He even shows how to build the inexpensive stepper drivers. If you are ok with Linux, LinuxCNC would be a good choice to keep cost down.
I have not followed the above instructable.
The “driller” is called a spindle.

I second openbuilds. I personally built a joe’s cnc 4x4 rack and pinion mill - spending probably $3500ish for everything. I decided to go as big as I could (it’s easy to mill small stuff on a large mill, but tough to mill big stuff on a small mill).

Having started with EMC (now LinuxCNC) I’d go towards Mach3 for control. I wasn’t able to enable spindle control and got tired of pot control of RPM and manual enable and manual Z zero…

@MoserLabs LinuxCNC has a very active mailing list and IRC channel. Had you asked for help, I believe you could have gotten everything functioning in a week at most. One of the members got a production welding arm working with their help.