I have a quick question regarding my Z axis.

I have a quick question regarding my Z axis. I’m new to CNC’ing and got my OX running and it is working great, I am very impressed. I have a slight problem when milling multiple parts on a sheet of plywood. After milling a few shapes, I notice the Z axis is dropping ever so slightly but I can see it plunge a little bit deeper by say the 4 shape it cuts and obviously bogs the router. I can see by the coupler that it has in fact gone down ( by locating the grub screw hole orientation) and with a manual turn while milling, I can lift it back to position and it runs fine after being corrected on the fly. Is there a thread that anyone is aware of where I can trouble shoot this issue? Both the X and Y axis are running perfectly and so is the Z except for on longer jobs where it seems to compound itself over each additional shape. My wheels are tight and not slipping so could it be backlash? Oh and my spoiler board is parallel to the gantry so it’s not that. Any help would be greatly appreciated! All the best and thanks in advance.

What drives the z axis? Belt? Screw?

Acme screw, with an anti backlash nut. I just read a tip from another member in another post suggesting to keep the Z axis motor always energized as the weight of the bit and dust shoe may be enough to pull it down when not energized. Sounds like it may be a start!

Yes, I had the same issue with myOX. Using a heavy router and if I don’t keep the stepper energized at all time it would slowing ‘slide’. Everything powered off, it only took a light pressure to manually do ‘slide’ downward.

I also switched Z stepper from a NEMA 17 to a strong NEMA 23, a similar model to my X and Y steppers. Runs firm and cool since.

After my sixth rebuild, I used a belt drive. It works fine now. I used an adapter plate, 9mm 3t belt. I had tried four couplers. I was ready to weld the joint so it would not slip. The weight is distributed better and the Z motion works well.