How do you solder your strips? I am fairly new to soldering,

How do you solder your strips? I am fairly new to soldering, and have struggled a bit with soldering wires to the ends of APA102 strips as well as splicing and re-soldering (needed to remove bad leds) portions of strips back together. I dislike using helping hands or soldering stations with clips. I have tried laying two spliced strips together to solder them to each other on various surfaces. Some dissipate heat too quickly and other surfaces just melt.

What is a good surface to place strips on when soldering them to each other or to wiring? Are soldering mats good for this?

My process is usually: Tin wire tips. When soldering wires to strips work on a flat surface. Put some sort of weight across strip near the end where soldering to hold the strip down flat and from moving around. Tin each pad on led strip. (Using a flux pen can help a lot with getting solder onto the strip pads if it’s not going well.) Hold wire end onto pad (tweezers are useful) and heat wire end with iron until it melts into place.

Some strips have much larger and easier to solder to pads. It might actually be something to consider when purchasing. Many led strips also have solder pads on the back so you can use those too. Just pay attention to which pad is which, (+ vs - and DI vs CI) if flipping the strip over.

For a solder surface I have used a wood surface but often use various sorts of shop rags. (Things don’t slide around on the cloth as much). You shouldn’t need to be applying so much heat on the strip for so long that it’s going to burn the surface you’re working on.

Have a look at this https://www.instagram.com/p/BUeUMKEFeWk it was for silicon covered strips but the process is pretty much the same

Thank you Marc, i’ll try some wood. I have a good piece of oak I can try. I melted the paint off of my MLTOOLS Helping hands soldering base to the point the metal is exposed.