Hi Guys! I'm almost ready to start cutting wood (then G10),

Hi Guys! I’m almost ready to start cutting wood (then G10), but I’m having a hard time deciding which software to use… I’m drafting my jobs in AutoCad… I downloaded MeshCam but the trial expired before I had a chance to try it out, because I had some issues with my Shapeoko.

So now, I need to make up my mind if I should buy MeshCam, or if there’s any other good software to sue with my AutoCad files.

Can you guys help me decide??

Thanks in advance!!

If I could get the local serial port Ajax server installed properly then I’d give Chilipeppr a serious evaluation, it looks great. (http://chilipeppr.com/) However, until I surmount that challenge I’ve fallen back on the simplest UI and workflow (with many constraints) Easel. (http://www.easel.com/)

Hi @Travis_Good:slight_smile: thanks for the reply… the problem is easel won’t take my AutoCad files… I’m new at CNC and honestly, I would like to keep it as simply as possible… Thanks again!

Chilipeppr is definitely recommended to run your gcode. To get your gcode, you can use jscut. You can also try sheetcam tng in trial mode. A lot of people use cambam as well. It seems that cam packages have plenty of options with no “good” free / open source.

@Dat_Chu Hello :slight_smile: Thanks! is chillipeppr hard to use? I have no experience with CNC at all…

Has anybody tried MakerCam??

Chillipeppr is probably one of the best program to send your gcode. It can be tailored to your controller and machine as well, you simply need to join the Chilipeppr community and ask for help if you need anything.

Have you emailed MakerCam support? They probably can extend the trial peroid for 30 days.

@Dat_Chu is chillipeppr free? You know what? i didn’t think about asking for an extension :slight_smile:

Yes. Simply go to http://chilipeppr.com

@Dat_Chu awesome Dat! I’ll get it right now… I hope it works with Mac!! :slight_smile: