Hey everyone, Im new to smoothie and whatnot,

Hey everyone, Im new to smoothie and whatnot, I just put the newest edge firmware on my genuine 5x, and wondering about the config file. Is there an Edge specific config, or do I just grab the newest one from the big blue button on the config page of documentation? And also, do I just copy/paste the new over the old? Im only using microsoft word to edit, is that ok?
One more thing for now, as far as resetting the board… unplugging the usb and plugging back in should be the same as hitting reset button correct?
Thanks in advance for the help!

use the relevant config from the config samples on github. do not edit with microsoft word
please read the wiki for why. yes reset is the same as power on

Thanks for the quick response, but i cant find anything about Word on http://smoothieware.org. not the easiest for newcomers as far as coding goes. Seems easy for people crossing from Marlin to Smoothie, but i have no experience with 3d printing coding. Closest thing i could find was saying dont use Notepad++ and something about ANSI which i know nothing about. Ive never been formally trained with coding, but instead of saying what kind to not use, why cant i seem to find anywhere that just says, “use this program to edit smoothie config file” it seems to be a secret or something. I mean, the documentation is so thourough, and ive learned so much from reading it, but it should really just state what software you need right from the top in the Basics, or even the Configuration page… Im not tryin to be a jerk or anything, i just want to learn.

Im guessing C++ is different from Notepad++ and feel like a moron. Ill try that. Never heard of it or used it. This has been hanging me up for weeks. Should be good from here thanks again. The github reference you made helped me out.

C++ and Notepad++ are two very different things. C++ is a programming language, Notepad++ is a text editor.