Help please! Is it worth buying this Wanhao Duplicator 4 in good working condition

Help please!
Is it worth buying this Wanhao Duplicator 4 in good working condition for $300? If not what would be a fair but great price to ask? I have a printrbot simple metal that I’m not happy with seeing as it doesn’t have a heated bed. I’m fairly new to 3d Printing so I’m not looking to spend a lot.

If it’s functional it’s a good deal.

If it’s stock that might be a little steep, but not bad. Prices have come down a lot since that came out. The full enclosure is worth something but not a ton on a plexiglas frame printer.

Basically you have to compare it to a new Ender3 or CR-10 or whatever that’s not enclosed but probably a better printer in some ways.

Is the frame rigid? I’ve heard the D4 and older Wanhaos were pretty shaky. Personally, I prefer a non-sliding bed but I don’t know if I’d want this, but I’d have to see how it is in person first. I don’t know the other limitations of this model but I’m wary of what looks like an acrylic frame.

@Jeff_DeMaagd the full frame (torsion box) makes it more rigid than you might think. The plastic Z stage cantilever arms and 8mm X rods are the bigger issues.

Thank you all for the comments! Any suggestion on a counter offer that would keep this completely low risk? I’m pretty sure he’d go down in price somewhat.

You can buy a new ENDER 3 or GEEETECH A10 for under $200, so I’d counter with $150 or less. Like the others said, prices have dropped a lot in the last year or two.

If it’s totally stock, maybe 150. The Sailfish Mightyboard controller is end of life. It’s fine and works pretty well, but no developers working on it anymore. You’re stuck in the x3g slicing ecosystem (a post-processed binary form of gcode) so it’s a little more hassle to slice files to print, and will be forever unless you do a board swap someday, which is doable but not a trivial amount of effort.