Hello, I am new to 3d printing. I found this printer in gearbest.

Hello, I am new to 3d printing. I found this printer in gearbest. Its very cheap (I think). Does it worth it or should I go for something better?
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_337314.html

If you enjoy putting it all together yourself? The build roughly takes about 16 hours to complete install. Then you have to configure software and calibration. Because of these issues alot of people prefer and “out of box” type of printer. Trust me that it ain’t easy and the learning curve is really high!

It’s certainly cheap, but as already said, you need to be prepared for a complex build an long calibration period.

If you don’t have experience with 3D printers, or even electronics in general, this may be a considerable challenge.

Personally, I think the “build it from a kit” approach has a lot to recommend it. Certainly you really understand the device far more than if you bought an “out of the box” one.

That’s true, assuming you actually complete the assembly.

But the same thing could be said about almost anything. There’s a lot to be learned in building your own computer as well, and yet, the vast majority of people just buy a finished one from the store.

@Tom_Nardi Calibration is NOT long?.. GTFOH

@Tom_Nardi Yeah, but people who use 3D printers tend to be hands-on maker types, no?

@Tom_Nardi That would be true if you had to fettle your computer once it was up and running – calibrating it, adjusting it, keeping an eye on wear and so on, using it in a sympathetic way which doesn’t cause harm. But a computer (from the point of view of the hardware) is build-and-forget. A 3D printer is a different kettle of fish so building it yourself sets you up well for running it later.

And gearbest does have very bad reviews(they sometimes never ship the product, others keep receiving defective products)