Cutting Gasket material with an Ortur LM3

I’m planning on 3D printing some custom wall mounts for electrical equipment that needs to fit into spaces that are too small or irregular for off the shelf enclosures, and I will probably need some kind of gasket in order to weather proof them.

I could probably cut them by hand, but in order to get a neater fit I’m considering laser cutting them. Does anyone have any experience in cutting gasket that could save me some time and hassle.

I’ve never tried this before so I’m completely open to advice on what to do.

I have a 10W Ortur LM3, completely vanilla with no modifications, and I’m going to be enclosing mostly 10-12V 5.5mm electrical jacks and Cat6 cable connections, but maybe also household electrical outlet plugs for things like CCTV camera and Christmas lights.

I’m completely open about what kind of material to use and will buy them in whatever thickness is recommended here.

I could technically 3D print them rather than cut them with TPU, but I don’t have any TPU and don’t want to buy a whole roll for a few prints, and would be interested in trying to laser cut them first just to see how it goes.

I have made small rubber gaskets out of a strip cut from a bicycle inner tube, I simply lasered it in my ‘40w’ diode machine. Reasonably quick to cut but the edges were cacky (charred), however nothing that didn’t easily sandpaper off…

My machine has air-assist and a Full Enclosure with external ventilation. Rubber, plastic and co. give off fumes that can cause serious neurological damage…

Paper gaskets should cut really easily… still beware of fumes since ‘paper’ includes all sorts of additives these days.

1 Like

I needed to make some gaskets to go around the motors on my CNC milling machine conversion. I used the 3mm craft foam:

Beevo

2 Likes