Complete Newb, What Do I Need to Plot?

Hello, I am not sure if this is the place to ask but, figured I would give it a shot. I make digital art as a hobby. Some time ago I had a program made that created a mosaic/grid art piece that with Adobe programs I was able to print in color.

I recently saw an article of a guy using a zenbot cnc and placing a marker where the tool holder would go to make some weird art designs.

What would be needed?

How would I “print” using markers (or another medium) of different colors? Meaning if the digital mosaic piece used 7 colors the plotter would only “dot in” 1 color at a time using the RGB color code?

*I am not looking to really “code generate” any artwork for now. I just want to have my artwork “printed/plotted” out making it look hand drawn.

**Really new to all of this so, happy to give any necessary info.

So, are you looking for a pin plotter with a ‘tool changer’ of pins with different colors?
They are easy to build if you have a 3D printer and some 2040 extrusion and some wiring skills.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XYqx5wg4oLU is one of the easy to build plotters. That is the starting end to building NC toys…

Be warned, DIY plotting is a bottomless pit of both amusement and timesuck.

If you don’t already have a CNC to retrofit, you can get light duty CNC pen plotters on Amazon for as little as $100. Price goes up with quality and drawing area, of course.

I wound up designing and 3d printing all the parts to retrofit my Onefinity and writing my own python library to drive it.

2 Likes

I was looking to buy a plotter. I found a good used “AxiDraw SE/A1” and “terraPen”.

How straight forward is the set-up of the plotting when not “code generating” do I just have to convert my image?

Does the software let the plotter know when another color is needed?

That is my confusion.

Some of the color I would like to achieve.

What are you using to create your art now? Hand drawn or digital? If digital, raster or vector?