Claw type game XY table driven by a touchscreen GUI - advice requested

Hi, I’m making a claw type arcade game for fun, with a very precise positioning system that I want to drive from a touchscreen. I would like to know what would be reccomended for creating the graphical interface. For control I’m open to whatever makes the most sense, I thought, ages ago when I first came up with the idea , of using an arduino with lots of ports for position sensors, and multiple axes controls, but when I would finally settle on the ‘right’ board, it would get discontinued. I’m a newbie so go easy on me. Certainly not asking for anyone to figure all this out for me, I just need to know which tools will be able to do the following: X ,Yand Z motor control with accurate repeatable positioning. The Z axis raises and lowers a holder with pan and tilt positioning. So that’s 5 axes total with positioning sensors, and the ability to run 2 or three of these systems at the same time from the same computer. So… what control board to use, what software to drive it, what platform to run it on, what to use for a touchscreen GUI, and can I run it all from a web interface so that it can be driven from anywhere?

Thank you all.

Keith.

Welcome to the forum Keith !

Interesting project you’re looking at - and there are, as always, more than one way to achieve it.

My thoughts are :

Use GRBL on an Arduino with a CNC shield for your XYZ movement. The precision is already there, you’ll just need homing switches and then send GCODE to the desired position. It’s all very well established, and a lot of hobby CNC do the same thing. You will typically only get 3 axis though from the standard library. I’ve built a CNC and use exactly that, and had no problems with it for years.

For the other axis, I’d just add another Arduino and CNC shield. These are comparatively cheap components.

GCODE to both would be through serial ports (USB these days).