AirTag compatible speaker

Hello everyone :slightly_smiling_face:

I’m not an expert in electronics, and I have a project to modify an Apple AirTag to make it fit in a credit card format (85mm x 55mm) while remaining as thin as possible (3.5mm) to put it in my wallet.

I already have the PCB with the shell removed, cables soldered on the power contactors to place the battery next to the PCB, and a temporary cardboard case (until I make a 3D-printed one). Everything works fine! :ok_hand:

Now, I need to replace the AirTag speaker. Indeed, I would not like to reuse the integrated coil because:

• the operation seems very difficult (the wires are very tiny, I already broke them during disassembly :grimacing:).
  • the volume will be lower without the original shell (see the post below), and I find a normal AirTag already too quiet.
  • I don’t need to save space, there is plenty of room in a credit card format to easily fit the PCB, a battery, and a speaker as long as it is thin.

So I looked up the specs of the AirTag’s audio circuit and came across a great doc by Adam Catley (see the post bellow). It mentions that the audio amplifier is a Maxim MAX98357AEWL whose specs are available here.

I then looked for a speaker that both have a good thickness/decibel ratio and that is compatible with the AirTag. I found a lot of models on Alibaba (strangely, I found almost none on Digikey), and this one seems to check all the boxes:

• 3.3mm thickness (the AirTag PCB is 3.5mm)
  • good decibel level compared to the different models I’ve seen (I hope it’s a lot louder than an original AirTag :crossed_fingers:)
  • specs seem to be compatible with those of the amplifier: Rated / Max. power: 0.7W / 1W ; Impedance: 8Ω

So I would like to get some advice on this choice. Is it really the audio amplifier that determines the choice of the speaker? Do the specs actually match, or am I wrong?

Thanks in advance :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like