AI generated cnc height map patterns

I thought I would make a thread focused on AI generated height maps for cnc or 3d prints that I share. I am still learning and refining my workflow so these are not perfect but should be usable.

I am currently using a 4 step process.

1. Generate the AI image
  2. Generate AI height map from image
  3. Create geometry from height map and refine and clean the model
  4. Manually create another height map from the geometry to maximize height of pattern (I use a logarithmic function to focus on near geometry detail and reduce distant geometry detail)

First height map.

3 Likes

Having fiddled with getting depth maps using AI, your steps 1 & 2 make sense. However, I don’t understand your steps 3 & 4. Could you explain them?

Sure.

The height map generated by the AI will more than likely not be perfect or have the depth proportions that are desired.

In step 3 I bring the height map into a 3d modeling program (Blender3d) and 3d model/digitally sculpt the areas that I want changed. That could mean raising and lowering different areas of the model. I can also refine/add/delete areas for either more or less detail.

Many times I get a resulting 3d model with exaggerated proportions that is unusable for a straight STL port.

So step 4.

I make another height map using a logarithmic function to compress the model information so far depth information is reduced and and near depth information is kept.

Very simple node function to accomplish this. You do have to play with the numbers and every model will be different.

I then take the height map straight into my cnc or bring it back into Blender3d to create real geometry and export as STL.

2 Likes

Here is an example of the difference.

Both models have the same dimensions of 2" x 2" x .25".

The one on the left is straight AI height map. Completely usable with a little smoothing in your cnc software.