Vector cuts in K40 Whisperer always making 2 passes

Hi,
I am using V0.58 and my vector cuts in K40 Whisperer always making 2 passes. Advanced settings are set to: Vector Cut Passes = 1

Is anyone else having this issue?

zoom in to see if you really only have one vector line…

1 Like

Does this also happen with the simplest of examples? Like, use Inkscape’s rectangle tool to draw a box then set the fill to none and the stroke to blue. Does it still do two passes with that?

1 Like

When I zoom in, I see only one line, even in outline display mode. My stroke style width is 0.100

1 Like

You did say blue, correct? I am under the assumption that blue is for vector engrave but I am very new to this. Blue is working fine for vector engrave with only 1 pass.

My issue is with red vector cut (again my assumption) in my designs it has been making two passes, when only one was intended.

I did try a red stroked square with no fill just now and it cut with one pass, so that works on a simple square.

Is it possible that I am not able to see multiple shapes while zooming in on my current design?

As it turns out, it is… I just discovered the problem. If I view by zooming in, I can see no duplicate shapes. Then I happened upon the inkscape Objects panel (i am new to inkscape too)…
Object → Objects.

On close inspection via this panel, I was able to see that my red shapes had duplicates hiding in plain sight. I am not sure how they got there, it was certainly not intended but I was able to delete them and they are gone now and vector cuts are executing with one pass.

Mystery solved. The problem is usually somewhere between the keyboard and the chair…
It was doing exactly what I requested but did not realize I had asked.

Thank you to dougl and tomatsu for the replies!

2 Likes

Yea, sorry, I didn’t read that right. I should have said “red”, not “blue”.