Using encoders to make a 2D measuring device. Where does a newcomer start?

Hello everyone. I am new to the forum and fairly new to electronics. While I have some experience with CNC and 3D printing I m very limited when it comes to the fascinating world of electronics.

Here is the project I am thinking of (and need a lot of help with):

I want to use 2 encoders (one rotational (absolute 360º, one wire actuated, perhaps 1000mm wire length).

The goal is to determine a point in space (actual just 2D) by knowing the angle and the distance from a given point 0. Creating multiple points from the same point 0 should enable me to create a contour.

Easiest example: Rectangle.

First point : 45º 100mm
Second point : 135º 100mm
Third point : 225º 100mm
Fouth point : 315º 100mm

describes a square of roughly 141.42mm

It becomes interesting when the shape describes is irregular and includes curves.
but before I can look into using these measured points I have to measure them first.

The idea is to have a rotating base (absolute rotating encoder) and to mount the wire actuated encoder on top so the wire can be pulled until it reaches the point. Of course the mechanics need to be figured out and I can put my CNC and 3D printing to good use there.

But first I have to understand how to work with these encoders, what kind of output I will get and what to do with them. It seems there are some protocols used but at the moment they are all greek to me. As a former woodworker I am not a mechatronic. At my time (I´m in my 60ies and retired now) that word has not be in existence ;).

I have the feeling this might be an arduino project and I hope someone here can point me in the right direction how that can be pulled of or where something similar already exist.

I appreciate any suggestion

Do you already have encoders, or are you looking for ideas?

Is this enough resolution for azimuth?