Total noob here, wanting some guidance on likely printer damage on delivery.

Total noob here, wanting some guidance on likely printer damage on delivery.

I received my first printer for my son and I to play with.
I believe it’s a RepRap (Clone?) right?
Happy to start cheap and find out what I don’t know.
The setup at this link is I have (Though bought locally):

It came fully assembled and has hard a hard time in shipment.
It seems to have been dropped/josstled while upside down (No “Fragile” or “This Way Up” markings due to some ill-fated ‘extra protection’ black plastic wrap)

The bed came loose from the frame, and was clearly jostling against the nozzle during shipment while upside down. There is a fair bit of damage to the aluminium bed from the nozzle. See attached.

Also, the ‘X end idler’ has cracked (and not the ‘by design split’) I mean cracked opposite the standard split. I’ve also noticed a bit of slop (forwards and backwards) in the print head on the smooth bars. The linear bearing seems loose in the housing.
Maybe these have come about from the twisting force from the bed mashing the head over and over?

I’ve attached a close-up of the bed damage to give an indication how much the head/nozzle has been mashed.

My question - Is this printer totally messed up? Or salvagable do you think?
Should I be expecting bent rods considering the damage described?

Send it back (and wait who-knows how long for a replacement), or forge on trying to get it working?

Looking for some experienced advice. Thanks!

#1 I’d send it back. That is a lot of damage, and it sounds like the printer was not packaged very well. There can be more damage that you haven’t found yet. The nozzle can be damaged past repair, you could need new rods, new x-ends, new carriage. The y rods could be bent as well.
It sucks to wait, but its better than spending months of work and hundreds of dollars to fix a broken printer. Send it back, get a refund.