The Web of Things As someone who's going to need 3D printing soon I've

The Web of Things

As someone who’s going to need 3D printing soon I’ve been lurking on here - must admit the whole subject reminds me very much of the late 70s/early 80s when hobbyist computing started which is great :slight_smile:

Anyway, to the point, there was a posting here very early on about having a free independent website for collecting and distributing files.

That thought’s got stuck in my head - because I’m a professional contract web developer and the basics of such a site are not difficult to achieve. So I’m interested in building it.

To that end: What would you want to see (and not see) in such a site? Is it really needed? And, on a more practical level, what are the filetypes? :slight_smile:

And Happy New Year.

Filetypes are generally…well…a lot of them actually. SVG, AI, STL, OBJ, DXF, PDF, PRT…not all of them have renderers though.

I think more than a place to host files, we need a place to be able to shift prints and services around. Something that isn’t motivated by profit, but benefits the community as a whole. If someone isn’t already selling the parts on ebay for a specific machine, nobody knows where to go in order to get those parts printed. But without some sort of system in place, this can become a logistical nightmare, if someone doesn’t get compensation for their material, time, etc.

There are a lot of things you could do as a web designer. Many ideas posted here often. Web-service-based slicing, the idea I just mentioned, a new thingiverse-competitor, printer comparison tables, a newbie start guide, etc.

@Steve_Turnbull We are talking about thingiverse replacement, or going beyond like @ThantiK mentioned?

You said “having a free independent website for collecting and distributing files.” and “the basics of such a site are not difficult to achieve”.