So in wondering if this is still an issue with windows as the discussion

So in wondering if this is still an issue with windows as the discussion is 2 years old now. https://github.com/Smoothieware/Smoothieware/issues/1096
If so, is a linux box still the best solution for fast rasters with a laser?

I haven’t heard about this in a long while. My understanding is this was a limitation in how LW4 ( specifically ) interfaced their coms, which other hosts ( Octoprint, Pronterface etc ) doesn’t have. Don’t know if LW4 made a fix there ( I think it was quite a bit of work for them to change the way they do things ), maybe ask them too ?

@Wolfmanjm ?

@Arthur_Wolf I’m not so sure this is host specific to lw. But I’m no expert and am still figuring stuff out. I notice in lightburn that i have raster speed limitations and read a post that smoothie was somehow limited to 80-100mm/sec when I came to rastering. Which is what led me to the discussion I referenced.

@Chuck_Comito Smoothe definitely has limitations, actual speed also depends on the image resolution/density. But this specific issue was about communication between LW and Smoothie, which isn’t ( or at least wasn’t at the time ) happening at the best possible speed, and was the bottleneck in that situation.

Smoothieware has a speed limit of about 800 to 1000 GCodes per second. Faster than that and it starts to miss steps and skew. You can reduce the GCode per second count by lowering the speed, reducing the DPI, or using the Newsprint dither mode in LightBurn, which clusters the commands together, allowing Smoothie to go faster.

The 80/100 mm/sec limit come from the default DPI setting. If you use an interval of 0.1mm (254 DPI) you get a maximum of 10 dots per MM, each of which creates a GCode command. At 80 mm/sec, that’s 800 commands per second. This is what is meant by “GCode density”.

@LightBurn_Software :

Faster than that and it starts to miss steps and skew.