So i'm pretty new to all of this and am loving Fastled,

So i’m pretty new to all of this and am loving Fastled, but can’t figure out the details on the wave functions. I’d like to use the quadwave to run only once (from start till the end of the strip) and then stop and leave the last pixel lit.
I’m trying to do this with the code below, which passes compiling, but crashes my Wemos D1 mini.

Any idea where this goes wrong?

void Fill() {
EVERY_N_MILLISECONDS(10) {

while (angle < NUM_LEDS); { //move led up the strip till max count is reached
uint8_t leadDot = map(quadwave8(angle),0, 255, 0, NUM_LEDS - 1);
angle = angle+1;
leds[leadDot] = CHSV(0, 255, 255);
fadeToBlackBy(leds, NUM_LEDS, NUM_LEDS*.8 );
// Serial.println(angle);
FastLED.show();
}

} 

}

How many leds are there?
leadDot may be going out of range, try adding a constrain function, also try taking the quadwave8(angle) function out of the map function and use a separate line and variable for it.

The map function still has some unexpected results which may or may not be causing the issue here.

https://plus.google.com/u/0/102469120456332256887/posts/hBqZqJDt1J9

The problem is more likely this line:

while (angle < NUM_LEDS); { //move led up the strip till max count is reached

See that ; after the while? You’ve basically created an infinitely spinning loop - because there is, effectively, no body to the loop. The D1 gets very unhappy if loop doesn’t return every once in a while and so that’s why it’s likely crashing/watchdogging. Get rid of that ;

@Jeremy_Spencer
I had typed an answer this afternoon, but somehow it never send.
in Short: at writing I had 144 leds, now testing it on 60.
I’ve been trying to find more “how to” information on the (quad)wave functions… but besides the http://fastled.io + github wiki and a few examples (without comments) I can’t really find documentation.
Would you happen to know another source on how to get a deeper understanding of the different ways to use it?