So I'm new to writing code and have been trying to figure out how

So I’m new to writing code and have been trying to figure out how to isolate two colors to into a pattern. I want two colors to cycle through the strip and I want to change the width of the stripes by changing how many leds the stripe will consist of (possibly with a fastfader.h trailing effect) to create an anti aliased edge. Can anyone lead me in the right direction with an example please?

I see the

I am having trouble following your description. Have you a video of something that inspired your idea?

Welcome, Jason! I’m not entirely sure I understand the effect you’re looking for, but I think I have the general idea. (The big question left open in my mind about what you described is this: should the stripes completely cover the LED strip like XXYYXXYYXXYY, or do you want some ‘black’ showing between them like XX__YY__XX__YY?) In any case, my overall recommendation is to start with the simple idea, get it working, play with it, and then add bells and whistles.

So for example: I’d first try to get it all up and running without the anti-aliasing or fading – just the stripes with controlled width. Then once you’ve got that working, add in features.

This code draws moving stripes of one color on a black background. The way it works is that it thinks of the LEDs along the strip as part of a repeating cycle: some stripe pixels, some background pixels, some stripe pixels, some background pixels, and so on. The length of the whole cycle is the stripe length plus the length of the gap between stripes. So to draw the stripes, we just loop down every pixel on the strip, figure out where in the cycle we are for that pixel, and draw the right color. The drawStripes function takes one argument telling it where in the cycle to begin, and by changing that in the loop() function, the stripes should move.

#include <FastLED.h>
#define NUM_LEDS 50
CRGB leds[NUM_LEDS];

uint8_t stripeWidth = 6;