Should I be scared of buying a 3d printer like Replica because it does

Should I be scared of buying a 3d printer like Replica because it does not accept GCode directlly? PrintrBot does accept Gcode directly which would allow more easy integration with tools such as Octoprint. I am very new to this 3d print world and want to avoid buying a Betamax. Thanks for any guidance.

@Tim_Odell , yes - you should be scared of any 3D printer which does not allow you to run your own gcode. The 3D printing landscape is improving by leaps and bounds in the software world. Just as far as slicers go, there is Skeinforge, Slic3r, Cura, Netfabb, Simplify3D, KISSlicer, MatterControl, and others I’m sure I’ve failed to mention.

Additionally, there are software packages now that are starting to do contoured layer printing that results in an increase in strength and possibly an increase in top layer shallow curve fidelity. These are just simply things that are not going to be added to things like the replicator.

You want to have your freedom to choose - it’s overwhelming at first, but the payoff is substantial.

Tim although I’m not one to say one thing is better than another, I would say there is definitely tangible advantage to staying with something that has a large compatibility base. Most printers these days are able to accept gcode either via memory card, serial or USB interface. Much development is going into slicers that produce gcode output. OctoPrint uses gcode. I think if you look at something that does not at lease have a promise of future gcode compatibility, you are greatly limiting yourself right out of the gate.

@Nerf_Herder , yep - 3D printers use pretty standard gcode. G1/G0 for rapid moves, etc. Most software just generates the toolpaths for you though.