SainSmart LC-40 Laser CNC

I have had enough grief with this LC-40 and would like to use an Arduino board instead of the board that came with this machine, I have an older 3018 that was both rotary and laser and I believe the board was Woodpecker. The x and y axis are in good shape and the motors are new so could I bolt a new Arduino on to this?
thanks
Jim

I’d suggest considering a more modern board. There are many that can support a diode laser.

I was just using that as it is in front of me, I am a NOVICE of a Beginner and I am 76yrs and I have a hard time in the memory bucket with out breaking the bank (Pension) and using Chinese stuff which way should I go as I already have the CNC machine.

Tell us about the “enough grief” you have had. We’d hate to invest time into helping you jump out of the frying pan into the fire. :smiling_face:

The Woodpecker boards controller is an atmega328p … better known as an Arduino micro-controller…

Woodpecker schematic

I had no problems with mine… both milling and using a low end supplied laser module… enough of a shot for my laser addiction :sob:

I agree with @mcdanlj, what seems to be the issue…? Maybe we can save you a few bucks…

:smiley_cat:

I bought an LC-40 from Sainsmart and that was a good month ago and I cannot burn much more than a couple dots have had Sainsmart trying to help and they thought it was the board and sent me a new one and that helped. I followed the beginner’s video to the letter and when I pushed start, Well look at the video

100_0003.MOV

You need to change who can access to the video link… I can’t… :sob:

1 Like