Running a heated bed at 24v... bad idea. Fires and stuff.

Running a heated bed at 24v… bad idea. Fires and stuff. These are all dead, including a few pins on my mega… That said…

Friends don’t let friends run 3d printers at 12v. Retraction at 24v is dreamy, even trippy. I wish people had told me.

Now I’m using triple power supplies. 12v for the heated bed, 24v for the steppers, 5v for the mega.

I’ve said it before: RAMPS are pretty hard to kill. They’re basically just traces and caps. Maybe you can replace a cap or two? Drivers die easily (is that one actually burned!?).
Also: I would really appreciate more info on your misadventures. Some of us are looking to convert the 24V RigidBot to a generic RAMPS setup.

I run my whole system on 24v. Why not run at 24v? If it’s a 12v bed I can see the problem. But then again I am running an Azteeg x3 which is a really robust board. I have no experience with ramps.

Looking closer, why do the two red ones still have D1 in place? I thought that had to be removed to run at 24V so that the Arduino Vreg didn’t get over-volted.

I run my heated bed (normal 2B with 24V connection points) at 30V by using a solid state relay and a separate PSU. It is simply awesome, I can heat it to 120C in 5 minutes now, where it would take 30 minutes to get to 110 before.

@Carlton_Dodd yes, there was a real flame inside my box emanating from that driver. Hindsight is that I didn’t down adjust the trimpots when upgrading to 24v. I think that’s the cause of the fire.

As for d1 resistor, it is removed in at least three of my dead boards, some of these are historical failures.

The white board failed due to resistive overheating on the heated bed connector from a poor connection and poor design of the rostock max. (The ramps mounts on the door so all the wires get jiggled when inspecting things)

The middle board failed because I overheated the traces in my extended attempts to install blade fuses. (Yeah yeah, 500c is too hot… yadda yadda)