Replicape / Recore firmware changes

Hi all,

As many on the Slack may have heard, our lead Redeem developer has taken leave of the project for personal reasons. I personally wish him well.

However as a result, it does leave us a bit in the lurch - Redeem was on its way to a release in Umikaze 2.2.1 but before I feel I can release that version, there are a few issues that need to be fixed.

But - I’m not a Redeem developer. I can dabble and tweak the odd thing here or there, but I haven’t a clue where to start on fixing the issues that were encountered.

After a lot of discussion on the development channel in Slack, we have come to the conclusion that perhaps Klipper is a better firmware to use on the Replicape. This means, of course, having to make a whole new image and testing and everything that goes with that.

The question is, how many would like to keep Redeem as the firmware and that I focus on instead finding a developer to jump in and fix it?

How many of you would rather jump to Klipper where there’s an active community already, and the support on Replicape or Recore only implies having to contribute to the hardware description within Klipper?

Or should we try to keep Redeem semi-alive despite the issues as they are, and also provide a Klipper-based configuration?

Please make your voice heard:

• Find a developer for Redeem to pick it up again
  • Migrate to Klipper exclusively
  • Make images for both Redeem and Klipper, waiting for Redeem to pick up again

0 voters

Can you describe what functionality missing from Klipper is provided by Redeem?