Originally shared by John Schneider I'm about ready to throw this stupid thing out

Originally shared by John Schneider

I’m about ready to throw this stupid thing out the window. @PrinterBot1 Jr. Stopped, saw smoke, quickly unplugged it and after ripping it apart, something near the fan pins burned up. I swear, between this and the filament jamming issues, I’m about ready to just set the damn thing on fire.

dafuq?

I am not a PrinterBot expert but that looks as a short circuited surface mounted capacitor (over voltage), or over current on the connector.

Note to self. Will not buy this printer.

That sucks! It sure seems like a hit and miss machine. That is definitely the fan MOSFET though so what did you have hooked to that pin? I’ve run maybe 6 pounds of filament through the Jr in the last 2 weeks (http://hardwired.cc/?p=393) alone.

I had a fan hooked up to it. It seems like with this machine that as soon as it looks like I’ll be able to print for awhile without issue, then something goes wrong. I’ve decided to stop throwing money at it, as it seems like that’s all I do with it. (upgraded belts, pulleys, motors, added a fan, upgraded the extruder).

The fan output was meant for very low currents only.

btw, don’t trust the cheap fans that say 12v/100 mA, measure it; I’ve seen some of them easting much more, and worse, with it’s mouth open…

@Jeff_Karpinski It’s not a good design with the 1.75 Ubis hotend that came with the printer. I’ve had to take a drill to it as well, since the hobbed bolt won’t line up properly. You’re right, the belts and pulleys perhaps weren’t necessary, but the motor for the X axis was, there’s no way that motor should’ve been as noisy as it was. As for the fan, you’re right, that’s my fault for assuming that a fan is a fan is a fan. When it would work, I’d get really good prints.